Kingdoms of Myanmar

A total of 16 kingdoms or dynasties existed in Myanmar. Here is a list of them and their locations.

Beikthano Pyu City State

Located in middle part of Myanmar at the north of Kookogwa Village. 11 miles north of Taung Dwingyee.

Thuwunna Bonmi (Ramanya) City State (AD 100)

Located in southern Myanmar near Beelin. at the foot of Mount Kaylartha.

Tharay Kittarar Pyu City State (AD 400-1000)

Located in lower Myanmar. 5 miles southeast of Pyay.

Hanlin Pyu City State (AD?-832)

Located in upper Myanmar in Shwebo District. Wetlet Township.

Waytharlee Kingdom (BC 500-?)

Located in western Myanmar about 6 miles north of Myauk Oo.

Bagan (Pagan) Dynasty (AD 107-1287)

Located in Upper Myanmar.

Pinya Dynasty (1309-1360)

Located in central Myanmar.

Sagaing Dynasty (1315-1364)

Located in upper Myanmar in Sagaing.

TaungNgoo Dynasty (1486-?)

Located in central Myanmar.

Innwa Dynasty (1364-1555)

Located in central Myanmar.

Bago/Hantharwaddy Dynasty

Located in lower Myanmar in Bago.

Kone Baung Dynasty (1752-1885)

Shwebo Palace: built by King Ahlaung Pharar

Kone Baung Dynasty. Ava Palace

Kone Baung Dynasty. Amarapura Palace: built by King Bodaw Pharar

Kone Baung Dynasty. Mandalay Palace: built by King Mindon

Home / About Myanmar / About Myanmar / Myanmar History / Kingdoms of Myanmar




Myanmar Hotel Reservation


Recommended Travel Agents

Beach Holidays


River Cruises




Bird Watching



Myanmar Souvenirs for Sale

Tee shirts, mugs, postcards, and more..


Myanmar Gallery

Sample image

Drive Across


Loading ...