Tantkyi Taung or the Tantkyi hill is located on the western side of Ayeyarwaddy river which falls on the other side of Bagan. On the Tantkyi Hill lies a Pagoda and is known as the Tantkyi Taung Pagoda. The Tantkyi Taung Pagoda was built during A.D 1059 by King Anawrahta. King Vizaraba from Sri Lanka donated one of Buddha's tooth relic and King Anawrahta duplicated with another one and embedded in the sacred place inside this pagoda.
There are 32 statues of elephants made in ratio to different directions at the base of the pagoda. It is an octagonal shaped designed platform on which the pagoda resides.
Many years passed by but still the pagoda is maintained by time to time. It takes about half a day to travel and visit this place. There are ferries carrying visitors across the Ayeyarwaddy river, every early morning.
There is a saying that if one could go and pay homage to Shwezigon pagoda, Tantkyi Taung pagoda, Tuyin Taung pagoda and Lawka Nandar pagoda in a single day, a wish comes true.