It was built by Min Ye Nandameit. the King of Innwa. in 1020. The King built this monument ten years after ascension to the throne. as son of King Thalun. the donor of Kaung-Hmu-Daw Pagoda. Originally it was in the bamboo glade and so it was known as Weluwun Pagoda.
It was later called Nga-dat-gyi for its five roof tiers. five stages of places. five places of consecration. five places of offering and five pairs of places. It is 28 cubits high. On the way down one can observe the second biggest set of beads in Myanmar.