The pagoda with four sets of standing Ananda statues were built in 1143 by Queen Yindaw. consort of King Bodaw in Amarapura. The overall design was like Ananda Phaya of Bagan. It was renovated by the Princess of Pyu the consort of King Bagan who came to the throne in 1218. Then in 1279 it was again renovated by Hermit U Khanti. the missionary of Mandalay Hill. As the four statues of standing Ananda were built in the red ordination hall cave. it is also known as Thein-ni-gyi Pagoda.