Aung Myay Lawka Pagoda was built in 1143 by King Padon @ King Bodaw U Waing of Amarapura. It was first called the royal residence pagoda to name the site of the residence when he was a prince. When he became king the pagoda was known as Aungmayay Lawka Pagoda. It was also known as rock brick pagoda. Now it is called Aungmyay Lawka Rock Pagoda. Older people call it residential site Aungmyay Lawka rock pagoda. Its builder was the one who built Pahtodawgyi. the two Lion figures and Mingun Bronze Bell. that is the second largest in the world.