Umin Koesel Pagoda was built by King Mingaung of Innwa. Umin Koesel in Myanmar language means. 90 caves pagoda.
The pagoda was originally named Sinpho-hlai Phaya. It was so named because the king was on his way to Ashin Ariyawuntha around the place when the royal elephant ate bodhi leaves and fainted. So the king had to pay a lot of treasures to get it well again. With the passage of time. it suffered disrepair till it was renovated in 1293 by Ashin Eindathaba of Sayay East Village of Sagaing. It was then named Umin-Chaukse. In 1330. it was renamed Umin-Koese. It was most pleasing to the pilgrims as it contains the caves of the pagoda.